Blueberry Jalapeño Salsa

Spring is in the air in Wisconsin. The forecast for Sunday says 60 degrees, and I fully plan on celebrating the return of the sun. What a better way to ease back into warmer weather with a refreshing salsa made from blueberries?

There are signs of spring in Madison, WI
There are signs of spring in Madison, WI

I love this recipe because it really hits the trifecta of flavors combining sweet, savory and spicy in one dish.

This recipe was originally inspired from Meg from A Dash of Meg, but I tweaked the ingredients a little bit.

You will need:

1 1/2 c of fresh blueberries

1/2 lime

1/2 jalapeño

1 clove of garlic

3 T minced onion (or to taste)

Salt (to taste)

Normally chunky is good, but last night I was in the mood for something a little more smooth so I decided to chop all of the blueberries.  Meg advises to leave some blueberries whole.  I thought it might be challenging to keep a whole blueberry on a chip, but in retrospect my problems would have easily been solved with Scoops (the ultimate party chip).

I think the next time I make this recipe I will leave some jalapeño seeds in for added spice, but originally I deseeded and finely chopped 1/2 a jalapeño.

Next, add 1 clove of minced garlic, the onion and the juice of 1/2 a lime.  Lastly, add salt to taste.

These measurements may need to be adjusted to personal preference.  It was difficult to balance out the sweetness of the blueberries, the spiciness of the jalapeño and the savory combo of the lime juice and salt.  However, your hard work (of taste testing) will pay off because this is one of the most addicting and refreshing salsas I have ever tried.

If you don’t love blueberries as much as I do you can also substitute some berries with diced peach or mango.  Imagine this on top of your next fish taco. Yum. I might have to make fish tacos now.

 

*** Recipe serves two people

Leave a Reply

